BOYS WATER POLO: Jarrels leads Griffin in post-season honors

Five Los Al Griffins boys water polo players earned post-season honors on the All-Sunset league team.

The Griffin award winners were led by senior Chandler Jarrells who made the all-Orange County team,  all-CIF and all-Sunset League. Jarrels missed most of his junior season with a back injury but came back to score 111 goals and help Los Alamitos reach the CIF-SS Division 1 quarterfinals, where it fell to Loyola of Los Angeles.  Jarrels also was selected to the U.S. team for first-ever FINA World Youth Water Polo Championships (18-and-under) in Perth late last year.

Joining Jarrels on the all-Sunset league first team were fellow seniors Max Merrill and Luke Weiser.

A fourth senior, Andrew Reynolds, earned second team honors.  he was joined by junior Kenneth Keller.



Coach of the year: Robert Lynn, Newport Harbor

Player of the year: Dan Stevens, Newport Harbor, Sr.


First Team

Curtis Fink (Newport Harbor, Sr.); Preston Lee (Newport Harbor, Sr.); Andrew Silvers (Newport Harbor, Sr.); Chandler Jarrels (Los Alamitos, Sr.); Max Merrill (Los Alamitos, Sr.); Luke Weiser (Los Alamitos, Sr.); Jovan Jeremic (Huntington Beach, Sr.); Alex Wolf (Huntington Beach, So.); Justin Harrison (Edison, Jr.); Troy Oates (Edison, Jr.); Dalton Kenefick (Fountain Valley, Jr.)

Second Team

Mitch Mendoza (Newport Harbor, Jr.); Ryan Warde (Newport Harbor, Jr.); Wyatt Muller (Newport Harbor, Sr.); Kenneth Keller (Los Alamitos, Jr.); Andrew Reynolds (Los Alamitos, Sr.); Scott Schultz (Huntington Beach, Sr.); Matt Cook (Huntington Beach, Jr.); Ryan Sillasen (Huntington Beach, So.); Alec Neiderland (Edison, Jr.); Dane Estrella (Edison, So.); Connor Reilly (Fountain Valley, Jr.); Chad Halsted (Fountain Valley, Jr.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *